thingsneedtobesaid

Different..

Posted on: May 18, 2011

I am of mayan decent adopted into an all irish family.  I’ve always stood out.  It was hardest in elementary school because I lived in Long Island and everyone there looked the same.  I was the darkest.  And in elementary school kids don’t care about what they say or the effects it has.  It was hard.  I just had to go along with it…

Now that I’m older it hurts more, because people my age are fully capable of thinking before they talk but they don’t.  Even in middle school they didn’t.  At my new school there are 4 kids (including me) adopted into a family of different race.  It helps to know that they know what I’m going through even though we’ve had different experiences. We met and talked today (not us 4 but all the minorities in the school) and I didn’t realize how many people probably felt like I have.

Sometimes I would get a little mad at my birth mom and I would think it would be easier if I was with her cause she would understand.  But I know really my life would have been harder.  And I’m accepting being different.  Sometimes it’s hard.. like when I go shopping for clothes.  My mom doesn’t have my body type and neither do my siblings and its so frustrating and I hate being reminded that I’m different then them.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • vampporcupine: Ahhh...you are so CUTE! I don't know why you look at yourself the way that you do. It may be adoption related or might not. You are adorable :). Remeb
  • Susie: I understand where your feelings are coming from ~ and I know it is so hard to overcome the "not good enough" image you have of yourself. I want to t
  • Susie: The unknown and wondering in adoption is enough to drive you crazy. Not that this probably helps at all, but I was always thinking of my son not only

Categories